Fairfax County Government

The Fairfax County government is one of the best run governments in the country. In fact the county was only one of two jurisdictions in the U.S. to earn top marks in all measures of quality local government in the Pew Charitable Trust’s most recent Government Performance Project. The county government is overseen by a 10-member Board of Supervisors—nine members elected from magisterial districts and a chairman elected at-large. The County Supervisors appoint seven members of the local business community to the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority Commission.

County Budget $6.7 billion (Fiscal Year 2013). About $2.5 billion of that goes to the Fairfax County Public Schools.

Bond Rating AAA from Standard & Poor's, Moody's and Fitch Investors Service. Only 23 counties in the U.S. received AAA ratings from all three bond-rating agencies.

Contributions to the Commonwealth Fairfax County contributes about 22 percent of the annual income tax revenue of the Commonwealth of Virginia and about 15 percent of the state's annual sales tax revenue.

Fairfax County Board of Supervisors

Sharon Bulova
Sharon Bulova

Penny Gross
Penelope A. Gross

Vice Chairman
Mason District
John Cook
John Cook

Braddock District

John Foust
John W. Foust

Dranesville District

Michael Frey
Michael R. Frey

Sully District
Pat Herrity
Pat Herrity

Springfield District

Catherine Hudgins
Catherine M. Hudgins

Hunter Mill District

Gerry Hyland
Gerry W. Hyland

Mount Vernon District


Jeff McKay
Jeff McKay

Lee District
Linda Smyth
Linda Q. Smyth

Providence District