Fairfax County EDA in 2010 worked with 154 companies adding more than 6,400 jobs to the local economy

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

In 2010, the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority (FCEDA) worked with 154 companies that are adding 6,459 jobs to the Fairfax County economy. Companies in the professional services and information technology sectors dominated 2010 announcements.

Of the 154 companies, 99 are U.S.-based businesses. Large announcements during the year included defense and security giant Northrop Grumman, which will move its headquarters from Los Angeles to the Merrifield area and create 300 jobs here; professional services firm KPMG, adding 372 jobs in the Tysons Corner area; satellite imagery firm GeoEye, adding 330 jobs as it relocates its headquarters to the Herndon area; technology consultant ICF International, adding 400 jobs at its Fairfax headquarters; and software development firm InfoReliance, adding 270 jobs to its new headquarters in the Fair Oaks area.

Forty-three foreign-owned firms announced expansions in 2010, including Tata Communications (India), adding 20 jobs; Hitachi Consulting (Japan), adding 10 jobs; software firm Daon (Ireland), adding eight jobs; and Skyline Software (Israel), adding five jobs. More than 360 foreign-owned firms maintain operations in Fairfax County.

Twelve minority-owned companies announced expansions, including Lorton-based Chenega Federal Systems, adding 150 jobs; professional services firm DISYS, adding 80 positions in Tysons Corner; and IT services firm Marathon TS, adding 25 jobs in the Herndon area.

“The elements that make Fairfax County’s economy and business community so vibrant are reflected in the companies we worked with in 2010,” said Gerald L. Gordon, Ph.D., president and CEO of the FCEDA. “The announcements include companies that are household names, such as Northrop Grumman and KPMG, but also many minority-owned and foreign-owned firms that could also one day become household names.”

“Business growth like this is important to Fairfax County residents because it enables the Board of Supervisors to provide a breadth and quality of public services while minimizing the burden of the costs on residents,” Gordon said.

A list of selected announcements for 2010 is on the FCEDA Web site. The following selected companies announced expansion or relocation to Fairfax County in October, November and December 2010:

Company Web site Location Jobs Type
Acumen Solutions, Inc. www.acumensolutions.com Tysons Corner

156

Expansion
Angel.com Incorporated www.angel.com Tysons Corner

47

Expansion
AppAssure Software, Inc. www.appassure.com Reston

100

Expansion
AT&T Government Solutions www.corp.att.com/gov Tysons Corner

41

Expansion
Berenzweig Leonard, LLP www.berenzweiglaw.com Tysons Corner

6

New
Brillient Corporation www.brillient.net Reston

15

Expansion
CACI Inc. www.caci.com Fairfax Center/Oakton

225

Expansion
CPS Professional Services, LLC www.cps-ps.com Merrifield

26

Expansion
CR Software, Inc. www.crsoftwareinc.com Fairfax

20

Expansion
Digital Intelligence Systems Corporation (DISYS) www.disys.com Merrifield

80

Expansion
E & R Media NA Fairfax Center/Oakton

16

New
Evolver, Inc. www.evolverinc.com Reston

130

Expansion
GCS, Inc. www.gcsinfo.com Tysons Corner

38

Expansion
GeoEye, Inc. www.geoeye.com Herndon

330

New
Global Network Services www.gogns.net Alexandria

8

Expansion
HCL America Inc. (India) www.hcl.com/Government Tysons Corner

5

Expansion
Hitachi Consulting Corporation (Japan) www.hitachiconsulting.com Reston

10

Expansion
ICF International, Inc. www.icf.com Merrifield

400

Expansion
InfoReliance Corporation www.inforeliance.com Fairfax Center/Oakton

270

New
KEPCO Washington (Korea) www.kepco.co.kr Tysons Corner

3

New
L-3 Global Security & Engineering Solutions www.l-3com.com/gses Chantilly

88

Expansion
Learning Tree International www.learningtree.com Reston

6

Expansion
Marathon TS, Inc. www.marathonts.com Herndon

25

Expansion
Meridian Imaging Solutions www.meridian-imaging.com Springfield

28

Expansion
NavigationArts, LLC www.navigationarts.com Tysons Corner

29

Expansion
Near Infinity Corporation www.nearinfinity.com Reston

14

Expansion
NII Holdings, Inc. www.nii.com Reston

30

Expansion
Nomadic Display www.nomadicdisplay.com Springfield

6

Expansion
NTELX, Inc. www.ntelx.com Tysons Corner

11

Expansion
OCAS, Inc. (Norway) www.ocas-as.no/Home.htm Tysons Corner

2

Expansion
Pervazive (India) www.pervazive.com Tysons Corner

10

New
Platinum Solutions, Inc. www.platinumsolutions.com Reston

80

Expansion
Primatics Financial www.primaticsfinancial.com Tysons Corner

45

Expansion
Qlarion, Inc. www.qlarion.com Reston

15

Republic Capital Access www.republiccapitalaccess.com Reston

6

New
Sagent Partners www.sagentp.com Tysons Corner

35

Expansion
Simplexity www.simplexity.com Reston

15

Expansion
Skyline Software Systems, Inc. (Israel) www.skylinesoft.com Chantilly

5

Expansion
SpectrumCareers www.spectrumcareers.com Tysons Corner

73

Expansion
Spigit www.spigit.com Reston

4

Expansion
Trace Systems, Inc. www.tracesystems.com Tysons Corner

3

Expansion
Unissant (formerly b.i. methods) www.unissant.com Chantilly

60

Expansion
US Information Technologies Corporation (USIT) www.usinfotech.com Chantilly

60

X-COM Systems, LLC www.xcomsystems.com Reston

3

Expansion
Xenith Bank www.xenithbank.com Tysons Corner

7

New
ZyEdge LLC www.zyedge.com Reston

5

Expansion