Fairfax County EDA in 2011 worked with 164 companies and organizations adding almost 9,100 jobs to the local economy

Bechtel global operations headquarters relocation is most prominent

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

In 2011, the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority (FCEDA) worked with 164 companies and organizations that have added or will add 9,077 jobs to the Fairfax County economy. Companies in the professional services and information technology sectors dominated 2011 announcements.

Of the 164 companies, 127 are U.S.-based businesses. The most prominent announcement during the year came from Bechtel, one of the world’s largest engineering, construction and projects management companies. It will relocate its Global Operations headquarters to Fairfax County from Maryland, creating 625 new jobs. Another high-profile announcement came from ITT Exelis, a spinoff from ITT Corporation that established its new corporate headquarters in Fairfax County and is adding 70 jobs to the county economy.

Other announcements in 2011 came from recruiting and staffing firm Aerotek, which is adding 967 jobs based out of its Fairfax location; defense firm CACI International, adding 202 jobs; Hilton Worldwide, which is adding 100 jobs at the hotelier’s Fairfax County headquarters; and AppAssure Software, which develops backup and disaster recovery software, adding 150 jobs.

Seven minority-owned companies are among the U.S.-based expansions. They include TC Associates, an IT services firm creating 100 jobs, and Novel Applications of Vital Information, an IT services firm adding 60 jobs.

Thirty-seven foreign-owned firms announced expansions in 2011, including IT staffing company Blue Ally (India), adding 85 jobs; security services provider Securitas (Sweden), creating 35 jobs; wireless communications firm Mobile Access (Israel), adding 25 jobs; telecommunications firm Huawei Technologies (China), creating 23 jobs; and Ascom Network Testing (Switzerland), which develops technologies to analyze mobile networks and is adding 20 jobs. More than 370 foreign-owned firms maintain operations in Fairfax County.

“While much of the country, and many parts of the world, struggled economically in the past year, Fairfax County continued to thrive and be the economic engine of the Washington, D.C., area and Virginia,” said Gerald L. Gordon, Ph.D., president and CEO of the FCEDA. “The companies adding jobs reflect the technology and professional-services base of the county economy, but also reflect the growing diversification of the county’s economic base, the increasingly global nature of the economy here and the strong minority business community too.”

“Business growth like this is important to Fairfax County residents because these companies create jobs and build the commercial tax base that enables the Board of Supervisors to provide a breadth and quality of public services while minimizing the burden of the costs on residents,” Gordon said.

A list of selected announcements for 2011 is on the FCEDA Web site. The following selected companies announced expansion or relocation to Fairfax County in October, November and December 2011 and are adding 2,475 jobs to the county economy:

Company Web site Location Jobs New or Expansion
Aerotek www.aerotek.com Fairfax 967 Expansion
Ames & Gough www.amesgough.com Tysons Corner 2 Expansion
Apogee Integration LLC www.apogeeintegration.com Chantilly 20 Expansion
ARTEL, Inc. www.artelinc.com Reston 6 Expansion
Bechtel Corporation www.bechtel.com Reston 625 New
Brazen Careerist www.brazencareerist.com Tysons Corner 10 Expansion
BlueAlly LLC (India) www.blueally.com Tysons Corner 60 Expansion
Carousel Industries of North America, Inc. www.carouselindustries.com Reston 4 New
Cleared Solutions www.clearedsolutions.com Tysons Corner 10 Expansion
Digital Signal Corporation www.digitalsignalcorp.com Chantilly 40 Expansion
Environmental & Power Services, Inc. www.eps-hvac.com Springfield 2 Expansion
Farmers Insurance Group www.farmers.com Reston 33 New
FOX Architects, LLC www.fox-architects.com Tysons Corner 14 Expansion
Govplace www.govplace.com Reston 12 Expansion
HCL Technologies Limited (India) www.hcltech.com Tysons Corner 10 Expansion
Harmony Technology, Inc. www.harmonytech.com Herndon 15 Expansion
HITT Contracting Inc. www.hitt-gc.com Falls Church 40 Expansion
Hotbed Technologies www.hotbedtech.com Tysons Corner 15 Expansion
Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd. (China) www.huawei.com Reston 8 Expansion
Intelligent Office www.intelligentoffice.com Reston 1 Expansion
Jefferson Apartment Group www.jagllc.com Tysons Corner 2 Expansion
Knowledge Consulting Group www.knowledgecg.com Reston 30 Expansion
Kootio www.kootio.com Reston 7 New
Leeds Novamark Capital www.leedsnovamark.com Tysons Corner 4 New
Modus Create www.moduscreate.com Tysons Corner 20 New
Mr. Energy LLC www.mrenergy1.energy526.com Fairfax 1 New
NJVC www.njvc.com Tysons Corner 250 Expansion
Novel Applications of Vital Information, Inc. www.novelapplications.com Tysons Corner 60 Expansion
PPS (Korea)   Tysons Corner 1 New
Primatics Financial www.primaticsfinancial.com Tysons Corner 75 Expansion
Privia LLC www.privia.com Herndon 3 Expansion
RadiantBlue Technologies www.radiantblue.com Chantilly 24 Expansion
Salsa Labs www.salsalabs.com Reston 26 New
ServHawk LLC www.servhawk.com Tysons Corner 3 New
Tata Communications Ltd. (India) www.tatacommunications.com Herndon 7 Expansion
TEOCO www.teoco.com Fairfax 10 Expansion
Terra Pixel, LLC (Israel) www.terrapixel.com Reston 2 Expansion
Triton Security www.tritonsecurityinc.com Fairfax 15 Expansion
Troopswap.com www.troopswap.com Tysons Corner 15 New
Wireless Matrix Inc. www.wirelessmatrix.com Herndon 17 Expansion
Xceed Technologies www.xceedcorp.com Reston 9 Expansion