Fairfax County EDA works with 27 businesses adding more than 1,400 jobs to the local economy

Friday, May 10, 2013

During the first quarter of 2013, the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority (FCEDA) provided services and resources to 27 businesses that are adding more than 1,400 jobs in Fairfax County. Most of these businesses are in the information technology and professional services sectors, and seven are foreign-based firms using a Fairfax County location to expand in North America.

“In today’s environment, any business growth is remarkable. Fairfax County is fortunate to see growth from within as well as from other locations, including other countries,” said Gerald L. Gordon, Ph.D., president and CEO of the FCEDA. “The FCEDA continues to seek to diversify the economic base of Fairfax County, to enable the Board of Supervisors to fund our exceptional quality of life.”

One of the most prominent announcements came from Tysons Corner-based FrontPoint Security Solutions, a nationwide provider of interactive wireless home security systems that is adding 179 jobs to the county economy.

Other businesses that are creating jobs in Fairfax County: 

  • Salient Federal Solutions, which provides information technology and engineering services to government and commercial customers, adding 530 jobs;
  • Strategic Operational Solutions, an information technology and management consulting firm, adding 70 jobs; and,
  • Commtouch, an Israel-based firm supplying email security, Web filtering and antivirus capabilities, adding 10 jobs.

“We can certainly attribute a portion of FrontPoint Security’s success to our Fairfax County location,” said Chris Villar, CEO and co-founder of FrontPoint Security. “From a recruiting perspective, qualified job candidates love the central location of the Fairfax County area. Not only is the close proximity to Washington D.C. and surrounding suburbs appealing, but access to top-tier universities and the high concentration of technology companies also make attracting top talent easier.”

Below are companies that worked with the FCEDA in January, February and March of 2013 and are adding 1,432 jobs to the Fairfax County economy:

Company Web site Postal Address Jobs New or Expansion
Aerotek www.aerotek.com Fairfax 127 E
Blackbag Technologies, Inc. www.blackbagtech.com Herndon 6 N
The Buller Group, LLC www.bullergroup.com Reston 100 E
Capital Search Group, LLC www.capitalsearch.com Tysons Corner 2 E
China Unicom Americas Ltd. (China) www.unicomamericas.com Herndon 4 E
Commtouch Inc. (Israel) www.commtouch.com Tysons Corner 10 E
The Digital Government Institute, LLC www.digitalgovernment.com Tysons Corner 1 E
Dimension Data (Japan) www.dimensiondata.com Centreville 85 E
Dominion Business Solutions www.dominion-solutions.com Reston 20 E
Evergreen Advisors LLC www.evergreenadvisorsllc.com Tysons Corner 3 E
Executive Office Suites, Inc. www.execofficesuites.com Tysons Corner 2 E
FrontPoint Security Solutions www.frontpointsecurity.com Tysons Corner 179 E
H.C. Park & Associates, PLC (Korea) www.park-law.com Tysons Corner 6 E
HCL Technologies Limited (India) www.hcltech.com Tysons Corner 6 E
Intergraph Government Solutions (Sweden) www.intergraphgovsolutions.com Reston 2 E
Mandiant Corporation www.mandiant.com Reston 80 E
Modern Technology Solutions, Inc. www.mtsi-va.com Alexandria 29 E
National American University www.national.edu Tysons Corner 15 N
Pilot Freight Services www.pilotdelivers.com Herndon 5 N
Privia LLC www.privia.com Herndon 2 E
Salient Federal Solutions, Inc. www.salientfed.com Fairfax 530 E
ServiceSource www.servicesource.org Alexandria 115 E
Stephen James Associates www.stephenjames.com Fairfax 15 E
Strategic Operational Solutions, Inc. www.stopso.com Tysons Corner 70 E
Sunset Learning Institute, Inc. www.sunsetlearning.com Reston 3 E
Surefire Social www.surefiresocial.com Herndon 10 E
UAS Technologies (Israel) www.uastec.com Tysons Corner 5 N